Which short Kayaks are suitble for spearfishing?

General info and questions about your spearing and diving!

Which short Kayaks are suitble for spearfishing?

Postby Schwaman » December 31st, 2016, 10:38 am

Hey
I am looking to get a Kayak to dive Ventura and around. As I am pretty new to Kayaks, I am looking for advice.
I need to fit the Kayak in my van, so I am limited to 12' maybe 13' top.
Any recommendations?
thanks a lot
Schwaman
spearo

Re: Which short Kayaks are suitble for spearfishing?

Postby chris oak » December 31st, 2016, 3:35 pm

I think it depends largely on how much you weigh and how far you want to kayak and what kind of payload you are looking for. The goto swearby kayak is the scupper classic or scupper tankwell. It comes in at 14' though. I just got the malibu mini x which is 9'6" but you can't really store spearguns inside it nor any fish, the fish will have to be secured on the top of the kayak. It is short and fat, very much like a small cobra fish and dive, I don't expect to break any speed records but I'm just going to use it to paddle short distances. I would pose this same question on the norcal kayak anglers site as they do a lot of diving from their yaks as well.

Whatever you do stick with a well known brand like malibu, ocean kayak, cobra, etc. I saw how cheap a lot of the costco and copycat brands were and then read horrible reviews about how the yak would take in water.
chris oak
Enforcer

Postby hydroid » December 31st, 2016, 4:20 pm

Look in craigslist for a used "Ocean Kayak" Scupper Pro. I've been seeing some deals on nice one sitting in the garage.
hydroid
noob

Postby breezy » January 1st, 2017, 2:25 am