What is a good spearfishing knife?

New to spearfishing and have a question on gear, rigging, or something you need help with? Don't be shy, we all had to start somewhere. Ask it here!

What is a good spearfishing knife?

Postby chris oak » December 29th, 2017, 12:25 pm

We had this discussion in the past in the rigging section and I'll try to find it later. I had a guy ask me about it recently and IMO it really depends on what you are doing when you are diving. If you are diving with cable for giant fish, you better have a knife or shears that can cut that cable.

I am your basic shore diving, sometimes boat diving kook. I carry two knives and they are pretty similar in function as they are disposable. I say this because I am an expert in losing knives, I can carry a pocketknife forever and never lose it but I'll drop a dive knife once a season.

I used to carry expensive titanium ones and had a hard time sharpening them. I tried the small Dexter commercial net knives which were the sharpest I've ever used but as they aged they would often break at the hilt when I was braining bigger fish.